1
\$\begingroup\$

The description of the grappled condition reads, in part:

The condition also ends if an effect removes the grappled creature from the reach of the grappler or grappling effect, such as when a creature is hurled away by the thunderwave spell.

For the grappled condition to end, does the grappled creature have to be the one that is moved, or can the grappling creature be the one that is moved?

For example, could a College of Swords bard's Mobile Flourish* be used to push the grappling creature away, ending the grapple? Or would the bard have to attack the grappled creature with the Mobile Flourish in order to end the grapple in this way?

*Access to Xanathar's Guide to Everything in D&D Beyond is required for this link to work.

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I marked your question a duplicate because I felt the linked one asks effectively the same question. If you feel this is not the case though, as always, feel free to edit and explain why or drop a comment \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 May 20 at 16:17
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 Yes it is a duplicate. I am now convinced that RAW it doesn't matter whether the grappler or grapplee is moved. \$\endgroup\$ – mdrichey May 20 at 16:43