6
\$\begingroup\$

I'm pretty sure that I can't be reading this right, but the pact wizard archetype from 5th level says you gain an oracle curse and you count your oracle level as half your wizard level. Looking up the oracle's curses it says that the curse has a level equal to your oracle level plus 1/2 your level in any other classes. To me this means that at say 10th level you count your oracle level as 5th, no problem there, but the description under the curse suggests that you have 10 class levels which would give an additional 5 curse levels. Did they really mean for the pact wizard to get full curse progression? I can't find anything about it.

Curses do apparently progress without level of oracle, was this just supposed to indicate a more serious advance than just a 1 level dip in oracle could expect?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$
    – V2Blast
    May 22, 2020 at 4:19

1 Answer 1

6
\$\begingroup\$

The extraordinary ability great power, great expense of the wizard archetype pact wizard says, in part, "At 5th level, the pact wizard chooses one oracle curse, using 1/2 his character level as his effective oracle level when determining the effects of this curse" (emphasis mine). Half the pact wizard's level isn't the pact wizard's effective oracle level for all purposes, though. Instead, half the pact wizard's level is used only for determining the effects of the picked curse. For example, when a pact wizard that possesses the curse aboleth is level 10 she adds the spell minor image to her spellbook and to her spells known, and at level 20 she adds the spell modify memory to her spellbook and spells known.

To be clear, while the extraordinary ability oracle's curse of the base class oracle says, "An oracle’s curse is based on her oracle level plus one for every two levels or Hit Dice other than oracle," a pact wizard doesn't actually have that ability; the pact wizard gained her curse from the ability great power, great expense. So the pact wizard doesn't benefit from the ability oracle's curse like a real oracle would. (No offense, pact wizards.)

\$\endgroup\$
4
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ To be clear, what’s being said here is that getting “one oracle curse” isn’t the same as getting “oracle’s curse.” Which I agree, is what the rules say, but boy oh boy do I think there’s lots of critique to go around here, both for the oracle’s authors and the pact wizard’s. Great power, great expense sure reads to me like the author forgot oracles use half their non-oracle levels by default... \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    May 22, 2020 at 4:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan Yeah, renaming the oracle class feature from oracle's curse to, like, exposed to greatness or pretty much anything besides oracle's curse would probably reduce the chance it'd be confused with oracle curses. Bleah. (By extension, it bugs me that some classes have a class feature named spells; as each class follows its own rules for spells, the spells class feature should have a specific and unique name, like wizard spells or whatever.) \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2020 at 13:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ And then there’s hide in plain sight... \$\endgroup\$
    – KRyan
    May 22, 2020 at 14:06
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan O, God, yes. The list is long and horrible. I kind of want to blame the 3.5 revision, though. I can't be sure, but I think the overlap—except for the class feature spells—was vastly less (and not just because there was less content) prior to the revision. Afterward, though? It's all, like, "Thesaurus? Is that CR 3?" \$\endgroup\$ May 22, 2020 at 14:12

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .