6
\$\begingroup\$

As stated in the title, I've read about casting spells with somatic component with two-handed weapons here.
The thing is that the Xanathar's warlock invocation [Improved Pact Weapon] says that you can treat a weapon as a spellcasting focus. For what I understand of magical focuses is that you need to be in contact.
So the point is, could I cast a spell of that type (fireball) with my two-handed crossbow? Would I need to use my free object manipulation to "unsheath" the crossbow, or could I just lower the crossbow and cast the spell?

Thank you in advance.

\$\endgroup\$
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ From links and mentions made it seems very likely this is asking about D&D 5e, but you should really state that clearly. You can do that most easily by editing in the appropriate tag, eg. [dnd-5e]. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil May 23 at 21:05
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ You should also clarify why you think it would be different with the specific invocation. That information would help clarify if there are any important underlying absences/misunderstandings which are causing your query. \$\endgroup\$ – Someone_Evil May 23 at 21:08
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Phos; as Someone_Evil mentioned, please confirm the game you're playing. Note that this is a slightly odd site policy; you need to state "D&D 5e" (not just "5e", since other games have 5 editions too), even though it's obvious what game you're playing, but that's the only "odd" policy we have. Should be straight forward from there, and you'll have an answer. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS May 23 at 21:19
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi Phos; just wanted to quickly explain what this "[closed]" thing means; because of our policy about questions needing you to be explicit about what game you're playing, your question has been "put on hold" as "unclear" (even though it's not unclear at all, but... policy...). However, if you can tell us that this is D&D 5e explicitly, anything "closed" can be reopened again, so don't think that you're question has been rejected, this is only a temporary state (once you've told us it's D&D 5e, that is). Let us know and we can reopen this question for you. \$\endgroup\$ – NathanS May 23 at 22:02
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Ok, i thing i have stated more clearly what i want to do and also added the 5e tag. If there is anything else to be added just let me know. \$\endgroup\$ – Phos May 23 at 23:17
5
\$\begingroup\$

If a spell has material components, you can cast it without letting go of the crossbow at all.

The rules on "Material Components" state (emphasis mine):

[...] A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.

Meanwhile the Improved Pact Weapon Eldritch Invocation states:

You can use any weapon you summon with your Pact of the Blade feature as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells. [...]

Thus, you can be wielding you weapon which is also your spellcasting focus. If you fired your crossbow and then wanted to cast a spell such as fireball you would not have to remove your hands from the crossbow. Material components require that you be holding your focus, which you are already doing and so no hand removing is required.


If a spell has somatic components and not material components; the situation is a little bit iffy

The rules on "Somatic Components" states:

[...] If a spell requires a somatic component, the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures.

We can conclude from this that if a spell has only somatic components or only somatic and verbal components, the caster is required to have a free hand, that is, unless they have the War Caster feat which states:

[...] You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands. [...]

Thus, if casting such a spell the Warlock would have to remove one hand from their weapon. This is generally considered to be a free action; to require nothing, not even your object interaction:

And then, to fire the crossbow, the caster would have to put their hand back on it (it is a two-handed weapon). Whether or not going from holding a weapon in one hand to holding it in two hands requires some sort of action expenditure such as one free object interaction is unclear by the rules and I go over an incredibly similar situation with a versatile weapon in my own answer to the following question:

I personally would rule that you can go from holding something in one hand to holding it in two hands for free and have not had this imbalance my games by any means.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.