The Echo is Tangible.
Crawford's tweet states that the Echo is an object. Objects are by default tangible. No one argues whether a table or painting or sword is tangible, do they? The ability description also explicitly states:
"(The Echo) is the same size as you, and it occupies its space"
It is in effect a gray, translucent, tangible shade statue made in the image of the fighter. Whether or how easily an enemy can move through the object's space is another question entirely.
The Echo also deals the same damage as the fighter when used as the point of attack. Only a tangible object would be able to deal physical damage like slashing, piercing or bludgeoning. The Echo can also be attacked, has Hit Points and an Armour Class- features that only exist in tangible objects.
Some may wrongly argue that the word "image" in the description negates the rest of the evidence pointing towards the Echo's tangibility. This is a very narrow reading of the word (not to mention ignoring the game rules altogether), because its definition extends to more than just 2d and imaginary representations, going so far as to explicitly include statues and "a tangible or visible representation".
I would also point out that Illusion spells that specifically create images such as Minor Illusion or Major Image always explicitly state:
"physical interaction with the image reveals it to be an illusion, because things can pass through it."
If the Echo was meant to be intangible, its ability would say so, just as Illusion spells do. But it doesn't, so it isn't.
Spells like Creation do not have to specify whether or not its created objects are tangible because of course they are! Objects are always tangible, unless specifically stated otherwise.