9
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose a character casts the spiritual weapon spell one round, then casts the invisibility spell the following round.

Does using the bonus action from spiritual weapon to attack count as making an attack for the sake of ending the invisibility spell?

\$\endgroup\$
11
\$\begingroup\$

Yes because you are making an attack

Invisibility states:

The spell ends for a target that attacks or casts a spell.

and Spiritual Weapon states:

you can make a melee spell attack against a creature within 5 feet of the weapon.
[...]
As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the weapon up to 20 feet and repeat the attack against a creature within 5 feet of it.

Since using Spiritual Weapon involves making an attack it breaks Invisibility.

Furthermore you can look to the rule in the section "Making an Attack" (PHB, page 194):

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.