6
\$\begingroup\$

Character A is using a ranged weapon while he is within the threatened area of character B. For that reason, character B can make an attack of opportunity against character A.

Regarding the order of the attacks:

  • The attack of opportunity of character B comes before the ranged attack of character A, right?
  • If the attack of opportunity by character B causes enough damage to kill character A, then character A cannot make the ranged attack anymore, can he?

Am I correctly understanding the rules?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ And with that out of the way: Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already and see the help center or ask us here in the comments (use @ to ping someone) if you need more guidance. Good Luck and Happy Gaming! \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Jun 1 '20 at 16:51
3
\$\begingroup\$

You are correct

From the Attacks of Opportunity rule in the Combat chapter of the Core Rulebook:

An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

So the sequence would be, character B announces his action. Character A interrupts, and makes the AoO. If character B is still able to after resolving the attack, he can continue with his turn. As another example, character A might choose to use the Sunder maneuver as his AoO. If he does, he might destroy B's bow, rendering him unable to shoot, but still able to complete his turn.

In normal play, and depending on the terrain and situation, a character with a ranged attack who is threatened by another would normally just step back out of reach, and then shoot without provoking an AoO. Obviously, there are a myriad of reasons why this might not be practical or possible.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ @HeyICanChan Doesn't look super-relevant overall to me. \$\endgroup\$
    – YogoZuno
    Jun 2 '20 at 23:55

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.