7
\$\begingroup\$

Arcane Abeyance (p184 EGtW)Says:

...A creature holding the bead can use its action to release the spell within, whereupon the bead disappears. The spell uses your spell attack bonus and save DC, and the spell treats the creature who released it as the caster for all other purposes.

Find Familiar (p240 PHB) Says:

...In combat, it rolls its own initiative and acts on its own turn. A familiar can't attack, but it can take other actions as normal.

Can a familiar accept the frozen spell bead and then use it to cast a spell, if so does the familiar concentrate on the spell instead of the original caster?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does this thread answer your question? Can a familiar attune and wear or use a magic item? \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jun 2 at 5:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ Unfortunately no. \$\endgroup\$ – Sam Lacrumb Jun 2 at 5:13
  • \$\begingroup\$ What part of Arcane Abeyance is making you question whether or not it's possible? I'm reading "A creature holding the bead can use its action to release the spell", but I don't see anything that may suggest otherwise. Are you just looking for confirmation or do you have a specific concern? \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jun 2 at 5:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I am looking for confirmation. The familiar mechanic is a little weird and I am not certain that concentration gets passed to the holder of the frozen spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Sam Lacrumb Jun 2 at 5:34
11
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, depending on how the spell targets creatures

Rubiksmoose gave an excellent break down of what an attack is here, but what's relevant to this question can be found on p.193-194, PHB:

Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure

If there’s ever any question whether something you’re doing counts as an attack, the rule is simple: if you’re making an attack roll, you’re making an attack.

As a familiar is not able to attack (excluding a Warlock Pact of the Chain familiar), but there is no mention to a familiar's ability to cast a spell, then the familiar should be able to cast any spell that does not require an attack roll. In regards to the concentration of the spell in question, Arcane Abeyance states, as you've linked:

...A creature holding the bead can use its action to release the spell within, whereupon the bead disappears. The spell uses your spell attack bonus and save DC, and the spell treats the creature who released it as the caster for all other purposes.

The only places the spell would not use the familiars abilities are on the spell attack bonus (irrelevant for a familiar) or spell save DC. All other aspects of the spell would be the responsibility of the familiar, including concentration.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ So it does not "let you concentrate on a 2nd spell", it just lets the familiar cast the spell. \$\endgroup\$ – enkryptor Jun 2 at 12:27
  • \$\begingroup\$ @enkryptor it indirectly will allow this spellcaster to have 2 of there own spells being concentrated on simultaneously, as asked. \$\endgroup\$ – Jon Aristotle Jun 2 at 22:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.