It seems agreed upon that Centaur player characters (from Guildmasters' Guide to Ravnica & Mythic Odysseys of Theros) can wear, and benefit from, the magic items horseshoes of speed and horseshoes of a zephyr.

But what about other types of footwear: slippers of spider climbing, boots of speed, etc? Could a Centaur player character benefit from those too?


It depends on DM discretion

There is a section in the DMG on Wearing and Wielding Items (page 140) which states that items must we worn in the intended fashion and that:

In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build.

However, this doesn't necessarily extend to foot-intended boots fitting onto hooves. There is in fact some help in the last paragraph of that section (you'd be excused for missing it because it's on the next page):

When a nonhumanoid tries to wear an item, use your discretion as to whether the item functions as intended. A ring placed on a tentacle might work, but a yuan-ti with a snakelike tail instead of legs can't wear boots.

So it comes down to DM discretion whether a centaur's hooves are sufficiently foot-like for any magical boots, slippers, or other footwear.

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ If the GM wanted to allow it, it would be within the GM's discretion to have a player hire some kind of craftman to convert the boots into leg covers. \$\endgroup\$
    – ikegami
    Jun 3 '20 at 18:52
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @ikegami There is some background too that many magical items reform to suit the wearer - so probably not necessary. But, the DM might tie it in to the story or world setting as a side-quest in itself. :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Senmurv
    Jun 3 '20 at 20:28
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @Senmurv, Yes, of course. I should have been clearer. The side quest angle is exactly what I was thinking :) Also, that it would provide the GM a nice in-game way of picking and choosing which items could be adapted, and how many. Both of these ideas are rooted in the fact that a craftman able to do the conversion might not be readily available. \$\endgroup\$
    – ikegami
    Jun 3 '20 at 20:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .