The bestow curse spell states:

[...] While the target is cursed, your attacks and spells deal an extra 1d8 necrotic damage to the target. [...]

I'm wondering how this interacts with the dragon's breath spell (XGtE, p. 154), which grants a creature you touch a new action to create a damage-dealing area of effect. Does this count as your spell dealing damage and thus activate bestow curse? If not, does this change if dragon's breath was originally cast on yourself?


1 Answer 1



Dragon's Breath is your spell, regardless of what creature you cast it on. It should benefit from Bestow Curse for the same reason it uses your spell save DC; It's still damage from your spell, just with extra steps.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .