5
\$\begingroup\$

Can power attack be used with composite bows? The composite bow adds the Strength modifier to damage (instead of the Dexterity modifier) so "power attack" maybe can be used too.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ @user56480 Please put answers as answers along with their full support (rules, etc.) :) \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Jun 10, 2020 at 16:27

2 Answers 2

22
\$\begingroup\$

No.

You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls.

(Power Attack feat description, emphasis mine)

Power Attack says melee, which means it doesn’t apply to ranged attacks. Technically, you can use Power Attack before making ranged attacks, but it won’t do anything—you’ll take no penalty to your attack roll and gain no bonus to your damage roll.

The feat you are looking for is Deadly Aim. It works the same way, but it requires Dexterity instead of Strength, and there is no bonus for using two hands.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Pointing out Deadly Aim makes your answer superior to mine. I answered the question, not the issue. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Commented Jun 9, 2020 at 17:18
9
\$\begingroup\$

No.

The reason for this comes from the feat itself.

You can choose to take a –1 penalty on all melee attack rolls and combat maneuver checks to gain a +2 bonus on all melee damage rolls.

Note that it calls out melee. This means that unless you use the bow as an improvised weapon to hit someone next to you, it performs a ranged attack.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Someone_Evil I wasnt aware that caps when used here would come out as shouty so thanks for the edit. \$\endgroup\$
    – Fering
    Commented Jun 9, 2020 at 17:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .