0
\$\begingroup\$

Shaitan Earthblast (Combat)

Benefit: While using the Shaitan Style feat, as a standard action, you can spend two Elemental Fist attempts to unleash a 20-foot column of acid that has a 5-foot radius and erupts from a point of origin within 30 feet of you. Creatures caught in the column take your unarmed strike damage plus the acid damage from your Elemental Fist and are staggered for 1 round. A successful Reflex save (DC 10 + 1/2 your character level + your Wis modifier) reduces the damage by half and prevents a target from being staggered

I'd like some clarification on what does and doesn't affect "unarmed strike damage":

  • Bonuses from class skills? (such as a Fighter's Weapon Training)
  • Enhancement bonus from magic items? (such as a +2 Amulet of Mighty Fists)
  • Special abilities from magic items? (such as a Shock Amulet of Mighty Fists)
  • Damage or other effects from feats? (Weapon Specialization, Power Attack, Bleeding Attack, etc.)

Obviously this question extends to all the Genie Style AoE attacks.

\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

Your Unarmed Strike Damage includes bonuses but non on-hit effects

What does this mean? If something increases the damage your attack does, it applies. If something happens when you land the attack, it does not.

  • Bonuses from class skills? (such as a Fighter's Weapon Training) Yes

    • Bonuses, by definition, add to the related number

    Bonus: Bonuses are numerical values that are added to checks and statistical scores. Most bonuses have a type, and as a general rule, bonuses of the same type are not cumulative (do not “stack”)—only the greater bonus granted applies.

  • Enhancement bonus from magic items? (such as a +2 Amulet of Mighty Fists) Yes

    • As above, Enhancement is a type of bonus
  • Damage or other effects from feats? (Weapon Specialization, Power Attack, Bleeding Attack, etc.) Some
    • If it adds a bonus, even untyped (such as Weapon Specialization), then it works.
    • Power Attack would work except you are unable to activate the Feat "You must choose to use this feat before making an attack roll, and its effects last until your next turn."*
    • Bleeding Attack would not, because it is an effect that you get if you land the attack, not a bonus to the attack.
  • Special abilities from magic items? (such as a Shock Amulet of Mighty Fists) No
    • Abilities that work "when you hit" something are not a bonus and do not count toward the damage of the attack. A good rule of thumb is that anything not multiplied on a crit would not be the attack damage.

*I am not positive that this is how Power Attack is supposed to be limited, but it is how I rule that line from the Feat. If your GM allows you to activate Power Attack without declaring an attack, then it would work.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.