9
\$\begingroup\$

If a level 20 Wizard (School of Illusion) casts Invisibility on a creature and then uses its 14th level ability illusory reality to make the invisibility "real", what happens?

\$\endgroup\$
35
\$\begingroup\$

No.

Illusory Reality says (PHB, pg. 118):

you can choose one inanimate, nonmagical object that is part of the illusion and make that object real.

A creature is not inanimate, and invisibility is not an object.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ You may want to address what, if anything, happens if you target an object that the creature affected by invisibility is carrying since "Anything the target is wearing or carrying is invisible as long as it is on the target's person." \$\endgroup\$ – David Coffron Jun 17 at 16:12
  • 7
    \$\begingroup\$ I’d probably rule that Invisibility doesn’t create an illusion, so nothing made invisible is a valid target for Illusory Reality - the object already is real, just invisible, and as I stated in the answer, invisibility is not an object at all, illusory or otherwise. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jun 17 at 16:18

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.