2
\$\begingroup\$

I (the DM) have a player with a level 11 fighter (brawler style). She uses the power "Grappling strike" (Martial Power 2 p7) with a bastard sword (+2), and we disagree on bonuses to attack roll.

The power states:

Hit: 1 [W] + Strength modifier damage, and you grab the target. The grab ends automatically at the end of your next turn.

And the brawler style (Martial Power 2 p6 with errata) states:

In addition, you gain a +2 enhancement bonus to the attack rolls of unarmed attacks and a +2 bonus to the attack rolls of grab attacks and attacks to move a creature you’re grabbing. These bonuses increase to +4 at 11th level and +6 at 21st level

She thinks the attack roll should have the brawler style bonus (+4 at level 11). But I think that bonus should not be counted, as it is for grab attack only, and grappling strike is an attack with just a grab effect/consequence.

I think the brawler style applies only to the grab action, describe in PHB 1, p290.

As English is not our native language, we may misunderstood this bonus.

A +4 bonus at level 11 seems a little overpowered for an at-will power, it can change:

1d20 + 17 (5 half level, 5 str, 3 proficiency, 2 alteration, 2 feat)

to:

1d20 + 21

A standard monster has 25 AC (DMG 1, p184): she will hit on 4+!

Can you please tell us which understanding is right ?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to the site! Take the tour. Thank you for your participation and have fun! \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Jun 19 at 16:46
1
\$\begingroup\$

The exploit grappling strike is not a grab attack

The class feature brawler style, in part, says, that the PC "gain[s] a +2 bonus to grab attacks" that "increase to +4 at 11th level" (Martial Power 2 6). A grab attack isn't just any ol' attack that includes a grab but a specific attack. To be fair, this is slightly unclear in the Player's Handbook (290) but is clear in the Rules Compendium wherein the attack grab is given a proper 4e powerlike writeup (243–4).

For comparison, neither the level 1 fighter encounter exploit grab and pinion (Martial Power 2 8) that incorporates a grab upon a hit nor the exploit serpent's coil (ibid.) that can also be used to grab is a grab attack. Both exploits can incidentally grab a foe, but—like the exploit grappling strike (7)—neither is a grab attack proper.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.