9
\$\begingroup\$

Suppose Alice, Charlie, and Bob are in combat (in that order).

Alice casts Cloud of Daggers centered on Bob. This question explains that Bob takes no damage (yet), as merely creating the area doesn't trigger the damage.

Charlie casts Thunderwave on Bob, who fails the save. Bob takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10ft, out of the area created by Cloud of Daggers.

Next is Bob's turn. Would I be correct to say that Bob never takes damage from the Cloud of Daggers (unless he does something silly like run back into it)?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

Yes

You have interpreted the spell text correctly.

Cloud of Daggers ... A creature takes 4d4 slashing damage when it enters the spell’s area for the first time on a turn or starts its turn there. 

Since Bob never uses his movement to enter the cloud and he does not start his turn in the cloud, he will remain undamaged by it.

If Charlie uses Thunderwave again to push Bob back into the cloud, he would take damage as he “enters” the spells radius.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thank you. Spells like this one mess with my head for some reason, I always rule wrong when I'm DMing! \$\endgroup\$ – zz20s Jun 21 at 5:25

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.