I noticed that the attacks in Statblocks mention one target (and sometimes one creature). This made me curious. I have been poring over the MM and VGtM, but have not found any monster that can make a melee/ranged attack against more than one target / one creature.

  1. Do we know of any example within the 'official' books where this is more than one?
  2. If it's always one, do we know of any reason why this is at all mentioned in the statblocks?

Related: Are there any issues with creating creatures that can make multi-target melee attacks?

Related: In the descriptions of monster action options, what's the difference between "one target" and "one creature"?

  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ does multiattack count? \$\endgroup\$
    – enkryptor
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 9:45
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ Probably not. The question is clearly about the fact of a single attack targeting multiple targets. \$\endgroup\$
    – Anagkai
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 11:44
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Related: Can the Deathlock Mastermind's Grave Bolts be used to attack a single target twice? \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 12:16
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ “A melee/ranged attack” is pretty clearly singular. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 14:45
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ The question cites the target number specification of attacks in stat blocks which appears so far as I know or can tell only on single attacks. Multiattack on the other hand does not specify anything about targeting in most cases, except for very few instances like the TRex. \$\endgroup\$
    – Anagkai
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 15:06

2 Answers 2


There was one: Deathlock Mastermind (MToF, pg. 129).

The Deathlock Mastermind's attack Grave Bolts says:

Grave Bolts. Ranged Spell Attack: +6 to hit, range 120 ft., one or two targets. Hit: 18 (4d8) necrotic damage.

I have searched through all three primary monster source books and this is the only one I found.

Monsters of the Multiverse changed "Grave Bolts" to "Grave Bolt".

With the release of Monsters of the Multiverse, Modenkainen's Tome of Foes is obsolete. The Deathlock Mastermind received an update that changes how Grave Bolts works. Instead of Grave Bolts having "one or two targets", it now targets one creature but can be used twice:

Multiattack. The deathlock makes two Deathly Claw or Grave Bolt attacks.

Grave Bolt. Ranged Spell Attack: +6 to hit, range 120 ft., one target. Hit: 13 (3d8) necrotic damage.

  • \$\begingroup\$ Beholders and Gazers also have the language of "target up to three creatures", but they are saving throw abilities, not attack rolls. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 13:12
  • \$\begingroup\$ I've found several examples of "targets up to N creatures" and "targets one or more creatures", and all of those abilities are saving throw abilities. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 13:14
  • \$\begingroup\$ Let us continue this discussion in chat. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 14:01
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm pretty sure that there are other attacks that specify things like a grappled. \$\endgroup\$
    – Anagkai
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 15:08
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Other examples: Tree Blight's Grasping Root can attack on creature not grappled by it, Giant Subterranean Lizard can tail under similar conditions and swallow a Medium or smaller creature grappled by it, Rug of Smothering smothers a Medium or smaller creature. Not sure you'd want all of these as honourable mentions, but maybe rework and give them as examples of why "one target" is used (i.e. that sometimes there are restrictions on what kind of target is attackable). \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 19:23

Future-proofing (up until MToF), and just being explicit for clarity

Thomas Markov's answer shows that there is one monster in Mordenkainen's Tome of Foes that can target more than one creature; the Deathlock Mastermind. However, before that, the only reason for explicitly stating what is always true for each attack in Monster Manual and Volo's Guide to Monsters must have been for future-proofing, in case one day they bring out a new monster, like they eventually did in MToF.

It's also perhaps simply good practice for them to be explicit to remove any doubt that an attack was intended to target only one creature (an easy mistake for players or DMs to make when considering gargantuan creatures; I can easily imagine someone thinking "but this creature is massive, of course its tentacle attack could hit all of the party members at once" were it not explicitly stated).

  • \$\begingroup\$ I'd assumed it was to mirror the same language used by spells and abilities, including for players. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Jun 23, 2020 at 20:17

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .