Choose a willing creature that you can see within range. Until the spell ends, [...] it gains an additional action on each of its turns. That action can be used only to take the Attack (one weapon attack only), Dash, Disengage, Hide, or Use an Object action.
This obviously does not allow to use any other actions that you can usually use, like casting a spell, as the more specific rule beats the general rule of what actions can be used. But what if some other specific effect grants additional option to use an action for? For example say an Assassin Vine has entangled me, that grants me the additional action option of breaking free from the vines:
A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a DC 13 Strength (Athletics) check, freeing itself on a successful check.
Can I use my haste action to try to break free?
As far as I can tell, I have two specific rules contradicting each other. If there is no official ruling on this, does anyone know what be ruled in AL?