2
\$\begingroup\$

For using Counterspell, a spell needs to contain some kind of component, otherwise it cant be countered.

https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/642086415040294912?lang=en

When casting spells from magical items the spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise. DMG p141.

spells you cast from items can be countered

https://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/12/21/does-the-counterspell-work-against-wands/ https://www.sageadvice.eu/2016/08/21/is-it-possible-to-counterspell-a-magic-item/

So, does it mean that the magic items are considered as the material components of the spell?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ And welcome to our stack! Please take the tour and learn more about how we operate and you can also visit the help center for more info. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 30 at 15:11
  • \$\begingroup\$ It sounds like you're really asking if a nearby enemy (or other observer) can tell when someone is casting a spell with an item. Is that right? \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jun 30 at 15:22
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Mark Wells yes, since it is possible to counter spells from wands, and i cant find any way for them to notice the spell considering the description of the item. \$\endgroup\$ – Kireban Jun 30 at 15:27
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Counterspell can be cast "when you see a creature within 60 feet of you casting a spell". It doesn't actually say the spell needs to have components; it's just that that's usually how you know a spell is being cast, and therefore that you can counterspell it. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jun 30 at 16:12
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Also just want to note that Sageadvice.eu is not Wizards of the Coast's published Sage Advice. It's just someone who aggregates tweets puts them together. Additionally, those tweets are just a snapshot as to how one of the designers would have ruled at the time they typed it and nothing more. They are no longer official or considered official. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 30 at 16:29
1
\$\begingroup\$

It will depend on the mechanics of the item, but the majority are not counterspellable

But to begin, counterspell(PHB, 228) does require you to see the casting:

which you take when you see a creature within 60 feet of you casting a spell

Seeing generally means that you observe the casting of the spell which usually means you've observed the casting.

However, if the item doesn't require any components at all to cast, then there really isn't a way to counterspell it because the casting isn't visible. Generally, they don't as stated in the DMG (141) when talking about casting from items:

The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell level, doesn't expend any of the user's spell slots, and requires no components, unless the item's description says otherwise.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ is there an example of wand that requires a component which allows foes to notice the spell casting? usually it just says that you cast the spell from it \$\endgroup\$ – Kireban Jun 30 at 15:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ I'll have to check, but your question was about items in general. I kept my answer vague and general so that you could apply it to any specific you/your party find. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Jun 30 at 15:38

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.