4
\$\begingroup\$

Quite a few monsters have the Innate Spellcasting trait. Some of them, such as the Gith (MM) and the Neothelid (VGtM) have a trait called Innate Spellcasting (Psionics) instead.

I cannot recall having seen any mechanic referencing whether or not a creature is a psionic. So my question is: Does the Psionics tag on Innate Spellcasting have mechanical implications?

\$\endgroup\$

2 Answers 2

2
\$\begingroup\$

The greater silver sword has psionic ability as attunement prerequisite

While reading a bit more about psionics, I stumbled about the magic item greater silver sword, which "requires attunement by a creature that has psionic ability" (MToF p. 89).

I also performed searches on dndbeyond with the terms "psionic" and "psionics" to see if I could find more rules specifically referencing psionics. I only found Classes and Feats (UA) granting and monsters having psionic abilities.

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Kind of.

  • The psionics rules state the only effect, besides "being psionic", is that components aren't required (but I do not know of any monsters that do not say that anyway)
  • There may be some effects that only trigger off "being psionic" (though I can't think of any that are relevant)
  • A spell cast psionically may not be considered magical by a DM (although Sage Advice considered all spells and features that create the effects of a spell, to be magical, psionics are kind of in a slightly grey area at the moment)
\$\endgroup\$
4
  • \$\begingroup\$ I don't have the time to dig up the sources right now, but - although that was unclear in the past - I'm pretty sure that psionics are definitely considered magical in the latest rulings & publications. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 8, 2020 at 10:06
  • \$\begingroup\$ Regarding the first bullet point, when a monster has innate spellcasting without psionics, only material components are not required. Verbal and somatic still are. But with psionics, no components are required. \$\endgroup\$
    – mdrichey
    Jul 8, 2020 at 16:17
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PixelMaster Yeah, in the errata they are considered magical. Any DM ruling to the otherwise is a ruling. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 13, 2020 at 1:46
  • \$\begingroup\$ @mdrichey Correct, but since it's listed on every monster it is kind of a moot point. \$\endgroup\$ Jul 13, 2020 at 1:47

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .