3
\$\begingroup\$

The victims of an Entangle spell are Restrained and cannot move themselves; but can be moved by others. I had always assumed that moving them out of the Area of Effect of the spell would free them; but a close reading of the spell now has me questioning this.

Grasping weeds and vines sprout from the ground in a 20-foot square starting from a point within range...A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

As written, there are only two things which explicitly end the restrained condition; the end of the spell and a successful strength check by the victim.

Contrast this with the Web spell.

On a failed save, the creature is restrained as long as it remains in the webs or until it breaks free.

There, a creature that leaves "the webs" (=VoE?) is explicitly free of restraint.

However, note that with Entangle, the "entangling plants" themselves are limited to the initial 20 foot square (not cube), and while there they "sprout from the ground". Under the 5e principle that there is no flavor text in spells, it could be that the vines can only Restrain one while they are connected to the ground, and leaving the area does not take the plants along.

Note that if the vines wrap around anything, it is only the feet and legs - a Restrained character cannot move themselves, but they can still attack and cast spells. Restrained does not mean Incapacitated.

So, do these plant restraints remain tightly coiled around one's legs, keeping one restrained even if moved away from the original ground, or do the restraints fall away once the plants are ripped from the ground?

Related: If you are pushed out of Evard's black tentacles while restrained, are you still restrained?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Ask your GM

This answer is a mostly a copy-paste of my answer to the following related question:


The entangle spell states (emphasis mine):

A creature in the area when you cast the spell must succeed on a Strength saving throw or be restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends.

A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

The last bit explains one way to for the restrained condition to end, another is that the spell ends. Additionally, the spell never explicitly states that leaving the area ends the condition; these both, to some small extent, point toward the condition not ending when leaving the area. Further justification for this stance can be found by looking at the web spell which does explicitly state that leaving the area ends the restrained condition. We even have a question on this:


That all said, the following question also exists:

It results from a similar problem where the hunger of Hadar spell never actually says the condition ends when leaving the area. A quite well-received answer there states:

But we can give more context here—our familiarity and expectations of the game. One of those is that things shouldn’t be “seriously overpowered,” as we just determined hunger of Hadar is, as written. It seems likely that the authors and editors of hunger of Hadar forgot that conditions basically default to permanent, or missed its implications, and considered their wording as “obviously” meaning the condition only applies as long as creatures are within. It seems they almost-certainly meant that the creatures are blinded for a duration equal to however long they stay fully within the area of hunger of Hadar, or that (partially) leaving the area of hunger of Hadarcounters the blindness. That would make for a reasonable spell. That is how the majority of people, it seems, assume the spell works, because they assume the spell isn’t “seriously overpowered” and read it within that context without checking the actual technical definitions.

Though there isn't the same sort of overpowered end-state (the condition will always end after the spell's duration) we can apply some similar ideas. Mistakes happen in writing and this could certainly be a similar case where a condition would logically end upon leaving the area, though the rules did not state as much. After all, you are no longer in range of the grasping vines, though perhaps they somehow extend or break off and keep holding you?

It also makes sense that the game developers and rules designers would have forget this; you wouldn't expect a restrained creature to move.

There are ways to support either interpretation and at the end of the day your GM will have the final say so ask them.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
3
\$\begingroup\$

Spells do what they say they do. In this case, a creature affected by entangle is

restrained by the entangling plants until the spell ends. A creature restrained by the plants can use its action to make a Strength check against your spell save DC. On a success, it frees itself.

Entangle only cares that the creature was in its area of effect when it was cast, not where the creature is afterward.

If entangle ended by moving the affected creature out of the area of effect, it would say so just as the web spell does.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Entangle doesn't say what it does if the creature is removed from its area, so I'm not sure how "doing what it says it does" is relevant. \$\endgroup\$ – Mark Wells Jul 26 at 22:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ It says the target is restrained until the spell ends. Is that unclear? \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jul 26 at 23:45
  • \$\begingroup\$ This would be a stronger answer if it commented on Hunger of Hadar and whether that similar spell does what it says it does. \$\endgroup\$ – Kirt Jul 27 at 9:05
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ This question isnt about hunger of Hadar. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Jul 27 at 15:34
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov Yes, the question is not about Hunger of Hadar. But your answer opens with the general statement that "spells do what they say they do". Thus you appear to be claiming that every spell is perfectly edited, that the lack of description in Entangle of what happens to those removed from its area is intentional. If this is your operating principle, it seems you should be making the same claim about Hunger of Hadar - "spells do what they say they do, even if it appears that the designers left something out." \$\endgroup\$ – Kirt Aug 2 at 18:14

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.