The Awaken spell adds sentience - granting 'intelligence' of 10 to either one beast or plant target (one that starts with an int score of 3 or less). It also adds mobility, ambulatory function, perceptions - and even capacity to grasp an entire bonus language. It can even talk. Yet inquiring minds want to know:
Under what conditions does Awaken grant &/or create a soul - if any?
Points of Interest & Confusion
This Awakened target ('huge or smaller') may be a beast. Beasts are both 'living' and 'creatures' - but does that mean they start with a soul?
Are plants even creatures to begin with? Note: a single Mirage Arcane 'illusion' spell makes up to one mile square of plant-life.
Why this is of interest: Night hags, Liches, various raise-style spells, magic items and many other game-rulings pivot around this soul-spirit stuff. Even role-playing wise: should a dog require Awaken in order to get to heaven, many inquiring minds (& their characters) would like to know.