6
\$\begingroup\$

Looking at the 5e MM, I'm not sure how many non-hostile creatures are affected by the Hobgoblin Captain's Leadership action - only one, or all of them within 30'?

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

There is no limit to the number of creatures that can be affected

The Leadership action states the effect can be activated:

whenever a nonhostile creature that it can see within 30 feet of it makes an attack roll or a saving throw.

There is no limit to the number of times this can be activated during the 1-minute duration. It can be used on 1 creature, 100 creatures, the same creature 100 times.

The only restrictions are that they are within 30 feet, can hear and understand the captain, are not already benefiting from leadership (eg if there are two Hobgoblin Captains at the same time, they can't both buff the same roll), and the captain isn't incapacitated.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ So, at the time of the command any ally within 30' of the hobgoblin will get +1d4 on attacks for the next ten rounds, correct? \$\endgroup\$ – Rock Stone Jul 29 at 21:29
  • \$\begingroup\$ @RockStone Not quite. For the next 10 rounds any ally that makes an attack roll or a saving throw within 30ft can have +1d4. If an ally was within 30ft when the Captain activated their ability but moves to be 40ft away, then they are out of range when they attack and the Captain can't give them a bonus. \$\endgroup\$ – gszavae Jul 30 at 0:05

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.