7
\$\begingroup\$

As I run Vampire the Masquerade v5 with some thin-blood players, a lot of question goes on the thin blood alchemy, even if I haven't the situation at my table yet.

One of them is how does thin-blood alchemy distilations methods work with passive powers. I explain myself:

Anathor Corporis read that you have the power until you swap with another one. So my ghess is that if you take a passive power, you have it until you swap it.

But what about Calcinatio and Fixatio. If you take a passive power (e.g. the emulation of almost any level one discipline powers), do you have it forever?

Second question, mostly for Anathor Corporis, but also if their is a permanency for Calcinatio and Fixatio:

Does the power evolve with as you upgrade Thin-blood Alchemy? Or does it stay at the level you made it, and you have to remake it to get the better version?

\$\endgroup\$
4
\$\begingroup\$

How does thin-blood alchemy distilations methods work with passive powers?

There is no defined duration for counterfeit powers that don't have a built-in duration, so it is at storyteller discretion. You can have it last for however long seems important for the vampire such as a scene or a few rounds, depending on the circumstances. Giving a vampire a counterfeit Resilience for the duration of a scene seems reasonable. Letting them get it forever may be reasonable depending on your campaign.

The rule book states when the rules don't specify, its up to the storyteller.

Does the power evolve with you as you upgrade Thin-blood Alchemy?

If you made a formula specifically to counterfeit a level 1 discipline, that's the only effect you get. You'd have to make a different formula to counterfeit a level 2 discipline.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ ok. The first part of the answer is good. But you didn't understood the second part of my question. What I asked for is, for exemple, what happend if my thin blood player take the "resilience" power (+X to your health tracker, where X is your level in fortitude/TBA)? Will it stay at +2 until the thin blood remake the formula, or will it become +3, +4, and then +5 when the thin-blood upgrade TBA? \$\endgroup\$
    – Rorp
    Aug 29 '20 at 6:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ The answer doesn't change. The formula's potency is determined when it is made. If you make a formula while at TBA level 2, then later get TBA 3, you have to recreate the formula to get a stronger bonus. \$\endgroup\$
    – JRodge01
    Aug 30 '20 at 20:32

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .