8
\$\begingroup\$

This new (and therefore spoiler-filled) strip of The Order of the Stick makes the claim that Implosion has been used to prevent resurrection, presumably from the party's Wizard's access to Limited Wish. This got me thinking, what means of resurrection does Implosion actually prevent?

At first I thought that it might prevent Raise Dead and not Resurrection, but I've recently noticed that Implosion's text is not explicit about whether or not it destroys bodies.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ Perhaps Burlew mixed up the descriptions of destruction and implosion? \$\endgroup\$ – Hey I Can Chan Aug 13 '20 at 18:07
  • \$\begingroup\$ Implosion also says one can target a creature only once. While talking is a free action in 3.5e, the number of panels (and squelchy sound effects) suggest it works a little differently in OOTS. Some folks here seem to think so as well \$\endgroup\$ – Punintended Aug 13 '20 at 18:14
3
\$\begingroup\$

Implosion does not prevent any form of resurrection. Instead, its niche is that it circumvents death ward by lacking the death descriptor. Although it slays its target, it is not a death spell.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Ironically, the [death] descriptor does prevent raise dead, so by lacking it, implosion is actually worse at this particular thing than most insta-death effects. Of course, by the time you can cast a 9th-level spell like implosion, resurrection has long been available anyway, so there’s little reason to be concerned about raise dead specifically, and bypassing death ward is far more valuable. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 13 '20 at 19:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @KRyan I suppose it depends on if you count an imploded body as whole. If it is, then it can be repaired by Raise Dead, otherwise the spell might have some trouble with that particular aspect \$\endgroup\$ – RevanantBacon Aug 13 '20 at 20:43
0
\$\begingroup\$

It might be more of the fact that the body has so little left to resurrect that it's easy to hide/remove the rest of the body. It may also just be a misinterpretation on the part of the author. 1210 strips in could make it easy to forget such details specially since the author doesn't play dnd that much any more according to some old interview/blog post.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. This answer seems entirely speculative, and seems like more of a comment on/addendum to Wannabe Warlock's answer, as it doesn't directly answer the question asked. You may want to edit it to more clearly do so first, before addressing how it might be interpreted to work in such a manner. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Aug 15 '20 at 9:35

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.