There are only a handful of spells with a duration of concentration.

While these spells are active, can the caster be subject to a Targeted version of Dispel Magic that does not aim at a spell, but rather the creature (presumably with the intention of ending all spells on that creature). Ostensibly, is the Concentration spell considered to be 'on' the caster?

For example, the Implosion spell has a duration of Concentration, which suggests that the caster is actively maintaining a magical effect (which they're using to smush others into goo). Given that others may be averse to being smushed into goo, could another character target the caster of Implosion with Dispel Magic to end that spell along with any other beneficial spells that the caster may've set up?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ "There are only a handful of spells with a duration of concentration" - me, playing a druid in 5e, cries inside \$\endgroup\$ Aug 19, 2020 at 17:15
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @PixelMaster I feel you, but the simple act of expanding the Concentration mechanic in 5e was easily one of the best things they did to make it fun for diverse parties. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 19, 2020 at 17:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ @PixelMaster Hey, y'all get to concentrate on things for free. In 3.5, that's your action every round. In all seriousness, though, Pyrotechnical has the right of it. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 20, 2020 at 5:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ Not sure where you get the idea that there are only a handful of spells with a duration of concentration, when there are well over a hundred. \$\endgroup\$
    – Yopi Lapi
    Aug 20, 2020 at 8:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @YopiLapi WotC alone published, like, 2,500 unique spells for 3.5 inclusive—even if 200 of those have a duration of Concentration, that's only a comparative handful. :-) Also, it's possible for a caster to've prepared no damage-dealing spells—in such a case, a wizard would probably prefer to use dispel magic instead of attacking the enemy with a crossbow, dagger, or staff. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 20, 2020 at 12:24

1 Answer 1


No. But also maybe.

Dispel magic, when targeting a creature, potentially affects each spell currently in effect on that creature. A spell like implosion, however, doesn't affect the caster- it affects the target of the spell. Although the caster does keep the spell going through concentration, I could find nothing describing concentration in and of itself as a magical effect- and thus you can't dispel your target's concentration. This makes sense; concentration is a skill, not a spell or spell-like ability, and you shouldn't be able to dispel it anymore than you could use dispel magic on someone's Listen check. What's more, implosion in particular mentions the effect it has on its target is instantaneous and not dispellable.

That said, casting a spell that distracts the caster in a non-damaging way does have the potential to force a concentration check. It's entirely possible that casting dispel magic, while not dispelling the spell the target is concentrating on, will still cause them to lose concentration and drop the spell anyway. And of course, any concentration spell affecting the target is fair game.


You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .