4
\$\begingroup\$

A ridiculous idea has occurred to me and I'm looking to verify if really works. Consider the following build:

  • Wizard 5/Rainbow Servant 10 (a class from Complete Divine)
  • At Wizard 5, take Spontaneous Divination from Complete Champion so that you qualify for Versatile Spellcaster from Races of the Dragon.
  • Take Versatile Spellcaster at some point.
  • At Rainbow Servant 10, you gain access to the entire Cleric spell list.
  • Put together, Versatile Spellcaster and Rainbow Servant 10 should let a Wizard cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list.

This gives me two questions, the first as a focus and the second as a supplemental:

  1. Does this actually work? My first objection is that I'm not quite sure if the Wizard automatically knows all of the Cleric spells at Rainbow Servant 10. If you have to record them in your spellbook, you'll soon run out of gold.
  2. If this does work, can the "powerful non-Diviner spellcaster class that can also cast spontaneously from the entire Cleric spell list" idea be done better? The term "Rainbow Warake" seems to be in my memory.
\$\endgroup\$
9
\$\begingroup\$

No, this does not work:

A 10th-level rainbow servant can learn and cast spells from the cleric list,

This grants the ability to learn the spells, but does not automatically have you learn them. The wizard still needs to scribe them in their spellbook, and a sorcerer would need to learn them, and so on. Spontaneous divination and Versatile Spellcaster both specify you need to know the spell you want, so those don’t change the equation.

The exceptions are the “full list” spellcasters, beguiler, dread necromancer, and warmage. These classes know every spell on their lists; there is no distinction between “can learn” and “have learned” for them. Thus, as rainbow servants, they can spontaneously cast from the entire cleric spell list. Warmage is traditional for this purpose, mostly because the class is garbage and there is little other reason to use it (as opposed to beguiler and dread necromancer, which are quite strong on their own, though obviously not as strong as “spontaneously casting the entire cleric spell list”).

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Theoretically yes if you spend time and gold, up your DM

Step by step :

  • Spontaneous Divination has been errata-ed by WotC : The first sentence should instead read, “You can spontaneously cast any spell you know from the divination school by sacrificing a prepared spell of equal or greater level.” You have to know the spell to cast it, but will give you the Spontaneous casting feature required for the next step.

  • Versatile Spellcasting allows you to fuel a spell you know of a certain level with two spell slots one level lower. This should work, by sacrificing two spell slots of a lower rank and chaining with Spontaneous Divination.

  • Rainbow Servant 10 allows you to expand the list of available spells you can choose from when you add spells to your spellbook. You do not automatically add them to your spellbook so yes, it could end costing a lot of gold (even if using Boccob's Blessed Book). You were right in you 1st point.

You end up burning two spells slots to cast one of a higher level you know. To me, that's a slightly better version of Versatile Spellcasting as it would work for Wizard, and that would work.

You are now a sorcerer, with one caster level increase due to the fact of being a wizard, with full access to cleric spells and the learning capabilities of a wizard. That's better than a Sorcerer 5 / Rainbow Servant 10 with Versatile Spellcasting.

As a DM, unsure if I would allow this :)

I will let your second point to other answers, but Ur-Priest quickly comes to mind.

Hoping that helps !

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Officially, rainbow servant does not lose spellcasting at any level—the rules state that text is primary and tables are secondary, and the text of rainbow servant says it gains spellcasting progression at each level, no exceptions. Complete Divine has errata, and has been reprinted several times, and this has never been corrected or commented upon officially. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 25 '20 at 12:35
  • \$\begingroup\$ Noted, but in fact I was comparing a Wizard 5 / Rainbow Servant 10 to a Sorc 15. I edited my conclusion to compare what is comparable, Sorc 5 / Rainbow Servant 10. \$\endgroup\$ – Tessa Aug 25 '20 at 12:41
  • \$\begingroup\$ Also, I feel that “yes” is incorrect—wizard cannot cast off of the entire cleric spell list without scribing them all into a spellbook, which was part of what was being asked after. The big “yes” is thus misleading, I think. \$\endgroup\$ – KRyan Aug 25 '20 at 12:42

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.