2
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not?

Specifically, I want to put the Enhanced Defense infusion on my shield, and then imbue my armor with the Enhanced Defense infusion as well. Does this work or not?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that regardless of the answer, your specific example won't work anyway due to the rules for combining effects of the same name. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 30 '20 at 10:27
6
\$\begingroup\$

You can’t use the same infusion twice

The Infusing an Item part of the Infuse item feature (E:RftLW p. 57) includes

each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time.

so you can't use it on both your shield and armour.

You can't get around this by knowing the same infusion twice, as (E:RftLW p. 61)

Unless an infusion's description says otherwise, you can't learn an infusion more than once.

And the only infusion with such an exception is Replicate Magic Item.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ are you sure this isn't meant to mean that you cant have the same infusion slot extend to both a shield and armor though or have an enchantment on 2 weapons using one infusion? \$\endgroup\$
    – lukethecat
    Aug 30 '20 at 0:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The text is pretty clear: one object and only one object. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 30 '20 at 0:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @lukethecat Infusion slot is maybe not a useful abstraction, the limitation is on number of infused objects, and the rule says you can't have the same infusion on more than one object. \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Aug 30 '20 at 0:38

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .