2
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing an artificer, and I want to use one of my known infusions twice (i.e. imbuing multiple objects with the same kind of infusion). Is this allowed, or not?

Specifically, I want to put the Enhanced Defense infusion on my shield, and then imbue my armor with the Enhanced Defense infusion as well. Does this work or not?

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Note that regardless of the answer, your specific example won't work anyway due to the rules for combining effects of the same name. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 30 '20 at 10:27
6
\$\begingroup\$

You can’t use the same infusion twice

The Infusing an Item part of the Infuse item feature (E:RftLW p. 57) includes

each of your infusions can be in only one object at a time.

so you can't use it on both your shield and armour.

You can't get around this by knowing the same infusion twice, as (E:RftLW p. 61)

Unless an infusion's description says otherwise, you can't learn an infusion more than once.

And the only infusion with such an exception is Replicate Magic Item.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ are you sure this isn't meant to mean that you cant have the same infusion slot extend to both a shield and armor though or have an enchantment on 2 weapons using one infusion? \$\endgroup\$
    – lukethecat
    Aug 30 '20 at 0:32
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ The text is pretty clear: one object and only one object. \$\endgroup\$ Aug 30 '20 at 0:37
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @lukethecat Infusion slot is maybe not a useful abstraction, the limitation is on number of infused objects, and the rule says you can't have the same infusion on more than one object. \$\endgroup\$
    – Someone_Evil
    Aug 30 '20 at 0:38

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.