2
\$\begingroup\$

I’m currently working on a Unity Domain cleric build, and I believe the wording of the ability Shared Burden is intended to be different than the RAW wording.

The description of the Unity Domain cleric's Channel Divinity: Shared Burden feature (from Unearthed Arcana 2020: Subclasses Part 2) says:

When a creature you can see within 30 feet of you takes damage, you can use your reaction to choose a number of other willing creatures you can see, up to a number of creatures equal to your Wisdom modifier (minimum of one creature). Distribute the damage taken between the original target and the chosen creatures. Each creature must take at least 1 damage. Apply any damage resistance or vulnerability of the creatures involved after you distribute the damage.

It says a creature you can see within 30 feet of you. It doesn’t specify "another creature", so based on my interpretation you can use this on yourself.

Is my interpretation correct? Can a Unity Domain cleric use Channel Divinity: Shared Burden as a reaction when the cleric takes damage?

\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can target yourself

Since you are a creature you can see, you would be able to react to taking damage yourself to distribute that damage among your allies.

Compare this to something like healing word, which can be used to target yourself:

A creature of your choice that you can see within range regains hit points equal to 1d4 + your spellcasting ability modifier.

Although Channel Divinity isn't a spell, I believe it would still use the same targeting rules as spells; those rules on targeting say:

Targeting Yourself
If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself, unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.