2
\$\begingroup\$

The Circle of Spores druid has a class feature that is called Symbiotic Entity:

Your melee weapon attacks deal an extra 1d6 poison damage to any target they hit.

Would spells like thorn whip gain the extra damage from this feature?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @PJRZ I believe it is from Circle of Spores from Guildmaster's Guide to Ravnica (dndbeyond.com/marketplace/sourcebooks/…) \$\endgroup\$ – J.E Sep 10 at 13:18
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Note, wikidot is notoriously bad at maintaining accurate information, and is probably illegally hosting paid content anyway. We would encourage you to purchase the books either from your local store or an online publisher such as DNDBeyond or Roll20. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Sep 10 at 13:20
  • \$\begingroup\$ Does my answer solve your problem? If so, you can "accept" by marking the check below the vote buttons. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Sep 23 at 14:37
  • \$\begingroup\$ Is there a reason the other answer is better than my answer? \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Sep 23 at 19:50
  • \$\begingroup\$ No, I thought that I accepted both, but thanks for the help! \$\endgroup\$ – aconfusedruid Sep 23 at 20:03
8
\$\begingroup\$

Symbiotic Entity only applies to melee weapon attacks.

Symbiotic Entity says:

Your melee weapon attacks deal an extra 1d6 poison damage to any target they hit.

So it depends on the particular spell. The given use case, thorn whip says:

Make a melee spell attack against the target.

This is a melee spell attack, not a melee weapon attack, so Symbiotic Entity would not apply. A spell would have to specify you are making a melee weapon attack for it to benefit from Symbiotic Entity.

For example, a druid using shillelagh would benefit from Symbiotic Entity:

The wood of a club or quarterstaff you are holding is imbued with nature's power. For the duration, you can use your spellcasting ability instead of Strength for the attack and damage rolls of melee attacks using that weapon, and the weapon's damage die becomes a d8. The weapon also becomes magical, if it isn't already. The spell ends if you cast it again or if you let go of the weapon.

Since you would be making your attacks with a melee weapon (a club or quarterstaff), Symbiotic Entity would boost the damage of those weapon attacks.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
1
\$\begingroup\$

No, melee weapon attacks are distinct from melee spell attacks.

Per this answer, you can see that the PHB (p195) distinguishes between melee attacks using weapons and melee attacks using spells:

Used in hand-to-hand combat, a melee attack allows you to attack a foe within your reach. A melee attack typically uses a handheld weapon such as a sword, a warhammer, or an axe. A typical monster makes a melee attack when it strikes with its claws, horns, teeth, tentacles, or other body part. A few spells also involve making a melee attack.

We can also look to Jeremy Crawford's tweet on the matter, which while not official is still informative:

An attack is either a weapon attack or a spell attack. It is never both, unless a rule makes an explicit exception. #DnD

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Also note that unarmed strikes (even powered up with Martial Arts) aren't weapon attacks. The game is pretty specific that "weapon" means exactly that, and not in the "my hands are registered lethal weapons" sense. \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Sep 10 at 14:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.