6
\$\begingroup\$

In the Dungeon Master's Guide section for Magic Items (Chapter 7), a lot of items have a requirement that says (any ___), specifically weapons and maybe armor if I remember correctly. For example, Flame Tongue says: “Weapon (any sword)”. Is this just to classify what the Item can be, or can you use another Magic Item in this place? Personally, I think a Vicious, Flame Tongue, Dragon Slayer, Vorpal Sword would be dope, but I'm not sure if that would work.

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

This refers to the type of weapon, not that it can be a particular magic weapon.

This is explained in the Dungeon Master's Guide, in the section Magic Item Categories:

Some magic weapons specify the type of weapon they are in their descriptions, such as a longsword or longbow. If a magic weapon doesn’t specify its weapon type, you may choose the type or determine it randomly.

Similarly for armor:

Some suits of magic armor specify the type of armor they are, such as chain mail or plate. If a magic armor doesn’t specify its armor type, you may choose the type or determine it randomly.

This is important because each enchantment has an assigned rarity to it, for example, a Weapon of Warning is uncommon. A Vicious Flame Tongue Dragon Slayer Vorpal Sword would be dope, but its rarity would be the sum (product?) of rare, rare, rare, and legendary, and I'm not sure what that even means.

You can make a Vorpalicious Dragon's Tongue if you want.

To be clear, if you're the DM and you want to give one of your players a Vicious Flame Tongue Dragon Slayer Vorpal Sword, go right ahead. If your party is level 20, balance started to lose its meaning a while ago.

The DMG does mention this possibility in Chapter 9: Dungeon Master's Workshop:

You can also modify an item by fusing it with properties from another item. For example, you could combine the effects of a helm of comprehending languages with those of a helm of telepathy into a single helmet. This makes the item more powerful (and probably increases its rarity), but it won’t break your game.

The use case given here, Helm of Telepathically Comprehending Languages, likely won't break your game, but your Vorpalicious Dragon's Tongue might, so just be careful.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ So you're saying the DM should not allow the party to acquire a Flaming Raging Poisoning Sword of Doom at level 10? \$\endgroup\$ – Darth Pseudonym Sep 11 at 15:10
  • 5
    \$\begingroup\$ I'm not saying you shouldn't give it to them, but I'm definitely not saying you should. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Sep 11 at 15:10
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I don't plan on giving it to anyone. I just gave a dope example because that was the dopest thing I could think of. That being said, I wonder how the party would react to a BBEG with that..... evil dm laugh \$\endgroup\$ – Deus Sep 11 at 16:10
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Deus They would probably cast heat metal on the sword until he dropped it, then pick it up and kill him with it. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Sep 11 at 17:24
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov sure, if they have a spare hour to attune to it... \$\endgroup\$ – Louis Wasserman Sep 11 at 17:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.