5
\$\begingroup\$

I'm playing DnD on this Westmarch server and I'm fighting a monster with "Damage resistances: Damage from spells"

My question is. Does elemental adept break the damage resistance or is it beaten out.

For reference, I was using scorching ray with fire elemental adept and I'm a draconic sorcerer.

\$\endgroup\$
0
8
\$\begingroup\$

Technically, "damage from spells" is not a "damage type", and so these rules don't interact with each other at all.

From the Elemental Adept feat:

Spells you cast ignore resistance to damage of the chosen type.

Certain creatures, like wizards of the abjuration school, can gain resistance to all damage done by spells. Since this isn't a resistance to a damage type (they still take full damage from non-spell sources), then Elemental Adept doesn't affect this in any way.

But ultimately it's up to the DM.

\$\endgroup\$
-1
\$\begingroup\$

It seems intended to work

As Apocolisp indicated in their post it is indeed up to the DM on how to interpret that rule. I can see it both ways but leaned to Elemental Adept working in your example.

That said, although JC's Tweets are not considered gospel truth anymore (and for somewhat good reason), it seems intended that should and would work.

As shown in this tweet it seems intended that it would bypass all resistance that would reduce the chosen type.

The intent is that Elemental Adept bypasses any resistance that would reduce the chosen damage type.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.