In D&D 5e, variant humans receive an additional skill upon creation. Does this skill have to belong to the same class as the character or can it be from any class? For example, if I made a variant human barbarian could I choose the skill acrobatics? Or, would it have to be an additional one from the barbarian skill list?

  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Hi, generally there is no need to post the same question a second time. Your original question would have been re-opened for answers when it met the community guidelines. However, since you have already gone ahead and done it I have posted my answer here, just keep that in mind for any future questions. \$\endgroup\$
    – smbailey
    Sep 15 '20 at 16:03
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ @smbailey We really shouldn't be letting these go with a workaround. I've closed and recommend you post an answer to the original as well. \$\endgroup\$
    – NautArch
    Sep 15 '20 at 16:16

The Variant Human optional rule includes the following text (Player's Handbook pg. 31):

Skills. You gain proficiency in one skill of your choice.

It is a skill of your choice, it can be any skill from the skills list regardless of what you have chosen for your class.


Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .