6
\$\begingroup\$

Could a creature, made by the 7th level Simulacrum spell, cast the Create Magen spell (from Icewind Dale: Rime of the Frostmaiden) as a means of bypassing the hit point maximum reduction?

It seems like a character could resonably create a simulacrum of themselves then ask them to cast Create Magen. Upon finishing the Create Magen spell the simulacrum could order the magen to listen to and obey the character as if they had created the magen. Thereby allowing the caster to avoid the hit point reduction.
Is this the case? or is something missing here? one of my concerns is that, if this is the case, a player character could conceivably make an army of magens with few repercussions. Obviously a DM will have the final say, but what do you guys think?

\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ Please correct me if I'm wrong. As far as I can tell, this spell and magens were in earlier editions of D&D. But this is the first time that they've arrived in 5th edition, and they have slightly different rules. For instance in earlier versions, if the original caster died the magen would go berserk. but no wording about that is included in the 5th edition version of it. \$\endgroup\$ – Shummed Sep 15 at 22:51
4
\$\begingroup\$

Looks technically legal, but you should expect your DM to veto it.

Note that it's also technically possible to get your simulacrum to cast wish for you. The Adventurers League guidelines forbid this for AL games:

If a simulacrum you have created casts wish, both you and your simulacrum suffer the stress associated with casting the spell including the risk of being forever unable to cast wish again. The inability to cast wish extends to any simulacrum you create in the future.

This situation seems similar.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.