10
\$\begingroup\$

If I have the Polearm Master feat and am wielding a +1 Glaive, the bonus action attack will use the same modifier as the standard attack (STR). However, does it also receive the +1 bonus from the fact that the weapon is magical?

Personally, I'd think that the full weapon is magical (not only the cutting part), so indeed the bonus attack gets a +1 as well. But in my DnDBeyond character sheet, the bonus attack does not include the magical bonus. So I wonder if this is RAW or a bug in DnDBeyond.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Do you have a link to your sheet? \$\endgroup\$
    – NotArch
    Commented Sep 23, 2020 at 22:43

1 Answer 1

21
\$\begingroup\$

All attacks with the weapon receive the bonus to attack and damage rolls.

The description for +1 weapons says (DMG, pg. 213):

You have a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls made with this magic weapon.

This does not discriminate between attacks made with the Attack action and attacks made via a feature granting a bonus action, or any other distinctions we might make, so all attack and damage rolls receive this bonus.

If DDB is not adding the +1 to the bonus action attack, this is indeed a bug. You can work around this by customizing the bonus action attack in DDB to have a +1 bonus to attack and damage rolls.

I've added a Glaive +1 to my character Poley McPoleface, and I've run into the same problem. The workaround is easy enough, see this image:

enter image description here

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch No, your character doesn't include the right modifier either. We are not talking about the standard action; scroll down to the bonus actions and you'll see that this one does not include the magic bonus (btw unrelated: the weapon is +3/+1 but the bonus applied is +4/+2; maybe there is a typo in your homebrew implementation) \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 24, 2020 at 15:58
  • \$\begingroup\$ @freddieknets See the response to my forum post on DDB. \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 24, 2020 at 16:02
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Thanks! I had also made a forum post there and got the same reply. It made me realise that also the range is wrong (should be 10ft too). \$\endgroup\$ Commented Sep 24, 2020 at 16:08

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .