15
\$\begingroup\$

My character was bitten by a Dire Rat and through accidental meta-gaming reasons, I know he's incubating Filth Fever. I want to ask the Paladin in our party to remove it before it can affect my stats, however, I don't really know if my character would know he's ill before the stat damage occurs. Is there any ruling for this?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ChumpNicholson Yes, that works in fluff, however I'd like to know if there is a ruling for that anyway. \$\endgroup\$ – Karrion42 Oct 5 '20 at 19:22
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Feathercrown: This question is about 3.5e, not 5e. (Also, don't answer in comments.) \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 6 '20 at 5:19
28
\$\begingroup\$

Disease

When a character is injured by a contaminated attack, touches an item smeared with diseased matter, or consumes disease-tainted food or drink, he must make an immediate Fortitude saving throw. If he succeeds, the disease has no effect—his immune system fought off the infection. If he fails, he takes damage after an incubation period. Once per day afterward, he must make a successful Fortitude saving throw to avoid repeated damage. Two successful saving throws in a row indicate that he has fought off the disease and recovers, taking no more damage.

These Fortitude saving throws can be rolled secretly so that the player doesn’t know whether the disease has taken hold.

Emphasis mine, that last line only makes sense if the character doesn't know.

But, of course, even if the character doesn't know that he's incubating a disease for sure, he could suspect it. Dire Rats are animals, if the character (or any member of the party that witnessed the attack) has ranks in the skill Knowledge (Nature), he could know that these creatures have an infectious bite, and that you could have been affected, and suggest healing magic just as a preventive measure.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • 4
    \$\begingroup\$ You could guess there is a chance you have caught something but remove disease must surpass a DC check against the infection. The DM could note the success/failure of the roll but not tell you whether it was removed. Could work well for character development, is the disease really gone? Perhaps that is hanging over the character, they wake one morning after sleeping outside - is that ache in your joints just from camping and the damp air or is the infection slowly creeping up on you? \$\endgroup\$ – Lio Elbammalf Oct 6 '20 at 10:18
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @LioElbammalf Remove Disease doesn't have to surpass any check, you may have mistook it with the pathfinder version. \$\endgroup\$ – Yopi Lapi Oct 6 '20 at 16:16
  • \$\begingroup\$ you're right, I did get them mixed up, thanks for picking up on that. Would have been a good idea otherwise! :) \$\endgroup\$ – Lio Elbammalf Oct 6 '20 at 20:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.