The entry for sword of life stealing says:
When you attack a creature with this magic weapon and roll a 20 on the attack roll, that target takes an extra 10 necrotic damage if it isn't a construct or an undead. You also gain 10 temporary hit points.
(Note: The SRD lists it as doing an extra 3d6 necrotic damage.)
However, my DM says that a sword of life stealing inflicts its damage in a certain order on a natural 20: first the regular damage, then crit damage, and only then the necrotic damage... so if by that point the target has no more HP left to lose, I receive no temporary HP. Basically he said that the target "has no more life to steal".
I thought this was a bit of a strange interpretation. Is there an official ruling on this somewhere?
Do I still gain temporary HP if the target of a sword of life stealing is reduced to 0 HP even before the necrotic damage is applied?