I am new to multiclassing and new to spells with 5e.
Currently I am a Level 3 Rogue (Arcane Trickster) and just leveled up to level 4. For my fourth level, I was going to put a level into the wizard class as it makes sense for my backstory. However, I'm confused by the calculation for determining what spell slots I have.
According to the multiclass spellcasting rules in the PHB (p. 164-165), to determine what spell slots I have, I would take my rogue level divided by 3 and then rounded down (1), and add it to my number of levels in the wizard class (1), for a total of 2.
Then looking at the 2nd row of the Multiclass Spellcaster table on page 165, it would seem that I'd have three 1st-level spell slots.
But that doesn't make sense to me, as I originally had two 1st-level spell slots as an Arcane Trickster rogue, and a 1st-level wizard has two 1st-level spell slots.
Would a multiclassed Arcane Trickster rogue 3 / wizard 1 have only three 1st-level spell slots? Or would they have four?