8
\$\begingroup\$

According to my character sheet on D&D Beyond, the Mage Slayer feat says:

When a creature within 5 ft. of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature, and when you damage a creature that is concentrating on a spell, that creature has disadvantage on the saving throw it makes to maintain its concentration. You also have advantage on saving throws against spells cast by creatures within 5 ft. of you.

Say a mage is concentrating on a spell. If this player character hits the mage with the Attack action on the player character's turn, does the mage have disadvantage on that Con saving throw to maintain concentration?

Or does the caster only have disadvantage on the Con save to maintain concentration if damaged by the reaction attack that is triggered by a spell being cast by the mage within 5 feet of the player character?

\$\endgroup\$
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Mage Slayer DDB doesn't match what you've got here either. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Oct 15 at 15:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ I got it directly from the tooltip text from the character sheet, seems thats an abbreviated version. \$\endgroup\$ – Luis Fernandez Oct 15 at 15:56
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ Ah, I see that now; clicking on the text box for it from the character sheet brings up the full text on the right. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Oct 15 at 15:57
20
\$\begingroup\$

On all attacks

Each bullet point of the Mage Slayer feat (PHB, pg. 168) is a separate benefit:

  • When a creature within 5 feet of you casts a spell, you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against that creature.
  • When you damage a creature that is concentrating on a spell, that creature has disadvantage on the saving throw it makes to maintain its concentration.
  • [...]

As long as you attack a creature who is concentrating on a spell, you can force disadvantage on the Constitution saving throw they make to maintain concentration.

The prior bullet point simply grants you a reaction attack if a creature within 5 feet of you casts a spell. Although if you hit, and the creature is concentrating on a spell, then they would have disadvantage on their concentration save per the second bullet point.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
5
\$\begingroup\$

All attacks

I’m not sure where your quote is from, but that is not how the feature appears in the PHB. In my version of the PHB this feat appears on page 168 and all 3 of these (reaction attacks against casters, imposing disadvantage on concentration, advantage on saves from spells within 5ft) are listed as separate benefits in a bullet list.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ According to a comment on the question, the erroneous quote was because the querent was looking at the "snippet" of the feat description on the character sheet, rather than the full description of the feat that appears in the sidebar if that part of the sheet is clicked (and appears in the compendium/standalone feat listings as well). That said, you may want to elaborate on your answer a bit more to better support it/explain the logic. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 16 at 5:26

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.