6
\$\begingroup\$

Clerics have the ability to spontaneously cast a cure spell if they have a spell slot of the same level to trade out for it. Does this mechanic apply to breath of life?

Normally, I would think not; however, the way the breath of life spell reads is very similar to that of the other cure spells, and it even heals 1d8 more than the previous cure spell to keep the leveling trend going:

This spell cures 5d8 points of damage + 1 point per caster level (maximum +25).

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 16 '20 at 4:44
6
\$\begingroup\$

Unfortunately, the "spontaneous casting" class feature for clerics (which is the one that allows this trade) clearly states.

 A cure spell is any spell with “cure” in its name

So no, a "breath of life" is not allowed by the rules as written. Obviously, nothing is stopping your GM from allowing it anyway, but the rules are against you

\$\endgroup\$
0

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.