7
\$\begingroup\$

The Rod of the Pact Keeper(+1) increases my Warlock's spell save DC by 1. With an 18 Charisma at level 8 my spell save DC is 16. (8+3+4+1)

I just received a Ring of Shooting Stars. 🍺👍 The ball lightning feature, and the shooting stars feature, require a DC 15 Dexterity save to avoid lightning or fire damage respectively. For both features, the same text is used.

That creature must make a DC 15 Dexterity saving throw.

Since my Warlock is attuned to the Rod of the Pact Keeper(+1), do they now have to make a DC 16 Dexterity saving throw to avoid the lightning or fire effects, or, is the DC 15 fixed and non-modifiable?

(A related question on the RoSS's effects like faerie fire is not the same as this one).

\$\endgroup\$
16
\$\begingroup\$

The DC is 15 because the Ball Lightning and Shooting Stars features are not warlock spells.

Rod of the Pact Keeper says (emphasis mine):

While holding this rod, you gain a bonus to spell attack rolls and to the saving throw DCs of your warlock spells.

These features of the Ring of Shooting Stars are not warlock spells, so the Rod of the Pact Keeper does not affect the DC of these features. The DC is 15, as stated in the item description.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ I know you say they aren't warlock spells, but wouldn't it be simpler to just say that they aren't even spells? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 16 at 23:03
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2: Notably, the Faerie Fire option of the ring of shooting stars lets you expend a charge to cast faerie fire - which is a spell - from the ring, but the rod of the pact keeper doesn't affect that spell's DC either because it's not a warlock spell. \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 17 at 4:30
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @V2Blast Unless you are an Archfey Warlock. Regardless, the OP mentions precisely that spell (and a question about it) and how it is a different situation \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Oct 17 at 5:03
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 That might be a nice exception, but I just found an item that will specify 'using casters spell save DC' which is the Harp of Ollamh. The spells use your spellcasting ability and spell save DC Since the ring lacks that specificity, the spell save DC would seem to me to default to whatever the item DC is. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 17 at 15:21

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.