Does Clone work on a Flesh golem?

Points of possible interest:

  • golem is the right size

  • clone doesn't seem to 'change their shape'

  • does the golem 'die'? does it live?

Seems like a pretty straightforward question, am I missing something?

  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ I edited out the bit about unwritten stack exchange rules since the sentence didn’t contribute anything to the question. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Oct 18 at 16:52
  • \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov Thank you / excellent work. I normally do a much, much longer explanation but i honestly couldn't think of a thing. And it worked! The answer below is excellent. \$\endgroup\$ – Tim of Time Oct 20 at 4:31

No, as Golems are not alive.

From the spell Clone:

This spell grows an inert duplicate of a living creature as a safeguard against death...

So the spell requires a living target. From the description of Golems, we see they are not living (MM p.167):

After constructing the body …, the golems creator infuses it with a spirit from the Elemental Plane of Earth.

The golem is merely infused with some form of an Earth Elemental; it has no soul, and thus its soul cannot be moved to a new body through the Clone spell.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.