1
\$\begingroup\$

The reason I ask this is because there are several different versions of the spell sniper feet, and all of them double range for ranged spells with attack rolls. Most feats that are like this specify they don't, but not spell sniper. I'm not asking how you'd rule it, I'm asking if the base rules allow it. I can't find anything on this. I'm hopeful because this would mean that a sorcerer + warlock could eventually have a range of 9600 feet with eldrich blast.

\$\endgroup\$
0
6
\$\begingroup\$

You can take each feat only once.

Unless the feat's description says otherwise. PHB page 165, second paragraph of feats.

As an example of a feat that can be taken more than once in the PHB there's Elemental Adept.

A sorcerer using the metamagic distant magic would double the range on top of the benefits of the feat, since it's not a feat taken more than once but similar effects.

\$\endgroup\$
5
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Welcome to RPG.SE! Take the tour if you haven't already, and check out the help center for more guidance. Good first answer! \$\endgroup\$ – V2Blast Oct 23 '20 at 18:47
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ As far as I can tell, that's the only feat that can be taken more than once. \$\endgroup\$ – KorvinStarmast Oct 24 '20 at 13:53
  • \$\begingroup\$ The heading of your answer is misleading. It may help to write (except for Elemental Adept) as in the body of your answer - or "in most cases" or "for all feats but one". \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Oct 25 '20 at 9:48
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Senmurv the heading is misleading if taken out of context, with the context being mainly about the spell sniper feat. The exception noted in the body is to add the exception for the generic rule. As KorvinStarmast already said, there's only one official feat that can be taken more than once; I've put it in the answer for the sole purpose of providing an example of a feat that would go against the statement in the heading. \$\endgroup\$ – Mauro Scarpaleggia Oct 25 '20 at 23:21
  • \$\begingroup\$ Still, it wouldn't take much to amend your heading so it's elementally crystal-clear! ;-) \$\endgroup\$ – Senmurv Oct 26 '20 at 22:07

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.