14
\$\begingroup\$

Normally with when you roll death saves, you get up with 1 HP if you roll a 20. But how does this apply with modifiers like Bless?

You bless up to three creatures of your choice within range. Whenever a target makes an attack roll or a saving throw before the spell ends, the target can roll a d4 and add the number rolled to the attack roll or saving throw.

Would Bless bringing it to 20 or over count for the waking back up function?

\$\endgroup\$
46
\$\begingroup\$

You get a success and nothing more

Only rolling a natural 20 or a natural 1 has any predetermined effect when making a death save throw. When one of those is rolled, you follow the rule below:

When you make a death saving throw and roll a 1 on the d20, it counts as two failures. If you roll a 20 on the d20, you regain 1 hit point.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • \$\begingroup\$ the reason i posted a very similar answer is because I think the title of your answer contradicts the content. If one rolls a 20 on the die, wich makes 21 with a +1 bonus, according to the title it counts as a normal success and according to the content it makes you regain 1hp \$\endgroup\$ – Anne Aunyme Nov 2 at 15:01
  • \$\begingroup\$ @AnneAunyme I'm not sure I agree with that (and i'm not sure the other who have upvoted do either.) But the end result is a get a success, nothing more. THe reason why is in the body that only a natural 20 or 1 matters. Can I be clearer? Your answer covers the other side of the coin in that you don't use modifiers. It's another way of saying only natural roll matters. \$\endgroup\$ – NautArch Nov 2 at 15:04
  • \$\begingroup\$ Even though the PHB says "a success or failure has no effect by itself", saying only a natural 1/20 has any effect is still a little confusing since other values still count as success/failure. Maybe "counts when calculating a success or failure, but doesn't have any other effect" or something along those lines. \$\endgroup\$ – user3067860 Nov 2 at 17:53
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @NautArch That helps, yes, thanks! \$\endgroup\$ – user3067860 Nov 2 at 17:57
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ In fact, if you somehow acquired a +20 to your roll, it would be "2 failures and nothing more" if you rolled a natural 1 =) \$\endgroup\$ – Cireo Nov 2 at 18:06
13
\$\begingroup\$

What counts is the number on the die, not the final result.

From the rules:

Rolling 1 or 20. When you make a death saving throw and roll a 1 on the d20, it counts as two failures. If you roll a 20 on the d20, you regain 1 hit point.

You specifically need the number that appear on the D20 to be either 1 or 20 for those effects to trigger, not to have the total roll with modifiers equal to 1 or 20.

Bless is taken into account to determine if the saving throw is a success or a failure, but not in the specific case of the "1 or 20" rule.

| improve this answer | |
\$\endgroup\$
  • 6
    \$\begingroup\$ The final result definitely matters - it’s a matter of life and death. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Nov 1 at 2:30
  • \$\begingroup\$ This would be more clear if it explicitly stated that bless does not affect death saving throws. Only the number on the die matters. There are no modifiers. \$\endgroup\$ – BobTheAverage Nov 1 at 4:04
  • 8
    \$\begingroup\$ @BobTheAverage "You are in the hands of fate now, aided only by spells and features that improve your chances of succeeding on a saving throw." Bless does not say it does not affect death saves. Death saves says it is affected by spells. Why do you say there are no modifiers? \$\endgroup\$ – Kirt Nov 1 at 6:24
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Bless is taken into account to determine if the saving throw is a success or a failure, but not in the specific case of the "1 or 20" rule. \$\endgroup\$ – Anne Aunyme Nov 2 at 14:57

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.