3
\$\begingroup\$

Mordenkainen's Private Sanctum says that

planar travel is blocked within the warded area

and the portable hole's description states that

the cylindrical space within the hole exists on a different plane.

Does this mean that portable holes' contents can't be accessed within a private sanctum?

\$\endgroup\$
4
2
\$\begingroup\$

Probably, but it probably isn’t a big deal.

It’s up to the DM to decide what exactly constitutes planar travel, but I think it pretty clear that traveling to the inside of a portable hole, which is a different plane, is planar travel. As you have observed, the description of a portable hole says:

the cylindrical space within the hole exists on a different plane.

That said, your game isn’t going to break if players are allowed to access their extra dimensional storage inside of the bounds of the sanctum. Discuss it with your DM and with your table.

\$\endgroup\$
1
  • \$\begingroup\$ It's a big deal for DMs looking to do something about the "everyone hops in the portable hole, invisible sneak sneaks into place, everyone hops out" infil plan. It's clever once and useful later, but it shouldn't always work. Granted, our party did this to itself by asking the question. \$\endgroup\$
    – nmichaels
    Nov 3 '20 at 3:35

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.