7
\$\begingroup\$

I read somewhere that spells like Darkness and Silence, where the effect of the spell spreads from a point I choose within range, can be cast on the surface of a moveable item. But after extensive googling, I couldn't find confirmation on it anymore. These are the relevant parts of the spell descriptions:

Darkness
Magical darkness spreads from a point you choose within range to fill a 15-foot radius sphere for the duration. ...

Silence
For the duration, no sound can be created within or pass through a 20-foot-radius sphere centered on a point you choose within range. ...

So theoretically, does this mean that a Warlock with the Devil's Sight incantation can cast Darkness on their armor and "carry" it around with him? Giving him semi-permanent (Concentration) advantage to targets without Devil's Sight/Truesight?

Another example would be someone casting Silence on an enemy mage, rendering them unable to cast spells with Verbal components also semi-permanently (Concentration)?

\$\endgroup\$
2
19
\$\begingroup\$

From the next paragraph of Darkness:

If the point you choose is on an object you are holding or one that isn't being worn or carried, the darkness emanates from the object and moves with it. Completely covering the source of the darkness with an opaque object, such as a bowl or a helm, blocks the darkness.

So you can cast Darkness on your armour, if you take your armour off. Otherwise it has to be an item you are holding. Your sword would work.

Silence does not have this wording, and so silence doesn't move with an object you cast it on.

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ This is a pretty common trick for melee-locks--the most common tactic I've seen is for a Warlock to cast Darkness on something like a small rock, so they can just stuff it in a pouch or small bag when they want to shut off the spell temporarily. I've even seen DMs allow them to tie a string to the rock--hold it while casting the spell, then tie it to the Warlock's belt so their hands are free, but can still drop the rock into their pouch when they want the dark-bubble to go away without dropping the spell.. \$\endgroup\$ – guildsbounty Nov 2 '20 at 17:44
  • 3
    \$\begingroup\$ I think casting darkness on your own worn gear is meant to be permissible - nothing stops you grabbing (and holding) your own armour while you cast the spell, even if you are also wearing it. The next statement is an "OR" clause that prevents you from interfering with another person's possessions, not your own. \$\endgroup\$ – Carcer Nov 5 '20 at 9:51

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.