1
\$\begingroup\$

The Thunderclap spell has a range of 5 feet and states (emphasis mine):

You create a burst of thunderous sound that can be heard up to 100 feet away. Each creature within range, other than you, must succeed on a Constitution saving throw or take 1d6 thunder damage. [...]

The Distant Spell Metamagic states:

When you cast a spell that has a range of 5 feet or greater, you can spend 1 sorcery point to double the range of the spell. [...]

Does doubling the range of Thunderclap also increase its area of effect or do something else entirely?

\$\endgroup\$
2
1
\$\begingroup\$

Distant Spell increases the area of effect of Thunderclap

When Distant Spell increases a spell's range this also affects anything that is determined by the spell's range. Some examples would be thunderclap's area of effect, beacon of hope's area of effect, or even how far away the caster and target of witch bolt can be before the spell ends.

Because thunderclap's area of effect is determined by its range and Distant Spell increases its range, it also increases its area of effect.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ Thunderclap is poorly written I was thinking about Thunderwave in my previous comment. However Range and Area are separate things and Distant Spell only affects Range not AoE... seems the discussion on DDB echoes that. I would indicate it is a 15' cube with you as the center but not affected, since it defies all other defined AoEs. Not like we have a Doughnut AoE...:) \$\endgroup\$ – Slagmoth Nov 11 '20 at 16:19
  • \$\begingroup\$ Answer seems sensible but is stated as an assertion without outside support or argument. Can you elaborate? Also, "can be heard 100 feet away" - this is not determined by the spell's range. Would this be doubled as well? \$\endgroup\$ – Kirt Nov 11 '20 at 16:55
  • \$\begingroup\$ @Kirt There is no outside support because this stems from a natural reading of the rules. I can see no reason to come to another conclusion when interpreting the rules as the range is increased and the spell affects things within that very same range. And yes, anything with an explicit number would not be increased. This applies to things like counterspell which we already have a question about \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Nov 11 '20 at 21:27

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.