5
\$\begingroup\$

Does the spell specify that the material component need be the same as the one used in the attack?

As part of recent errata to the green-flame blade and booming blade cantrips, their material components have been amended to "a melee weapon worth at least 1 sp" (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, 142).

If the attacking weapon and material component do not have to be the same, then can you use a separate weapon (for instance a Pact weapon or a Psychic Blade) for the component?

\$\endgroup\$
2
  • \$\begingroup\$ When would you want to use one weapon for the component and a different weapon for the attack? \$\endgroup\$ Nov 11, 2020 at 22:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 This could be an example: rpg.stackexchange.com/q/177347/42386 \$\endgroup\$
    – Xirema
    Nov 11, 2020 at 22:08

2 Answers 2

18
\$\begingroup\$

The material component weapon must be used to make the attack

The spell states (emphasis mine):

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. [...]

The only weapon used in the spell's casting is the material component; no other weapons is required in order to cast the spell. If they wanted it to be any weapon, they would have worded the spell differently.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The spell specifically says:

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you.

The “weapon used in the spell’s casting” refers to the weapon used as a material component.

\$\endgroup\$
0

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .