5
\$\begingroup\$

Does the spell specify that the material component need be the same as the one used in the attack?

As part of recent errata to the green-flame blade and booming blade cantrips, their material components have been amended to "a melee weapon worth at least 1 sp" (Sword Coast Adventurer's Guide, 142).

If the attacking weapon and material component do not have to be the same, then can you use a separate weapon for the component?

\$\endgroup\$
7
  • \$\begingroup\$ When would you want to use one weapon for the component and a different weapon for the attack? \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Nov 11 '20 at 22:07
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @Medix2 This could be an example: rpg.stackexchange.com/q/177347/42386 \$\endgroup\$ – Xirema Nov 11 '20 at 22:08
  • \$\begingroup\$ @medix you might want to use a different weapon? Or Xirema'sexample \$\endgroup\$ – AncientSwordRage Nov 11 '20 at 22:13
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ Title and body question are opposites. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Nov 11 '20 at 22:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ @AncientSwordRage But any different weapon would be worth at least 1sp, so you could just use it. Though Xirema's example is a good one \$\endgroup\$ – Medix2 Nov 11 '20 at 22:25
15
\$\begingroup\$

The material component weapon must be used to make the attack

The spell states (emphasis mine):

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you. [...]

The only weapon used in the spell's casting is the material component; no other weapons is required in order to cast the spell. If they wanted it to be any weapon, they would have worded the spell differently.

\$\endgroup\$
7
\$\begingroup\$

Yes.

The spell specifically says:

You brandish the weapon used in the spell’s casting and make a melee attack with it against one creature within 5 feet of you.

The “weapon used in the spell’s casting” refers to the weapon used as a material component.

\$\endgroup\$
3
  • \$\begingroup\$ So yes? I think you’ve got something backwards here. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Nov 11 '20 at 22:12
  • 1
    \$\begingroup\$ @ThomasMarkov oh shoot, that’s what I meant. I answered the body question not the question in the title. \$\endgroup\$ – Bardic Wizard Nov 11 '20 at 22:13
  • 2
    \$\begingroup\$ Title and body questions are opposite it seems. \$\endgroup\$ – Thomas Markov Nov 11 '20 at 22:13

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.