6
\$\begingroup\$

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states:

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

This would ordinarily prevent you from casting a levelled spell and a bonus action spell on the same turn; however, the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item states:

[...] While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell's effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. [...]

Furthermore, the following question's highest-scoring answer states:

[...] The user never casts the spell either. They merely use a (special, unnamed) action to produce the spell's effects. They don't cast it and don't get to modify it with their features which care about them casting a spell. [...]

And the Sage Advice Compendium even states (page 3):

Q. Which action is used to activate a Spell-Storing Item?

A. Activating a Spell-Storing Item uses the Use an Object action.

Does this mean that a caster could use a Spell-Storing Item, creating the effects of any 1st or 2nd level Artificer spell with a casting time of 1 action, and then use their bonus action to cast any (bonus action) spell?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can.

Casting a spell as your bonus action prevents you from casting a spell with your Action unless it's a Cantrip. You are, however, free to use your Action to activate a magic item, unless that magic item specifies that it is casting a spell. The magic items produced by the Spell-Storing Item class feature don't state that they allow you to cast a spell, simply "producing the spell's effect" of the spell stored within them, so you're free to use them in conjunction with casting a Bonus Action spell.

\$\endgroup\$

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .