6
\$\begingroup\$

The rule on Bonus Action Casting Time states:

A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.

This would ordinarily prevent you from casting a levelled spell and a bonus action spell on the same turn; however, the Artificer's Spell-Storing Item states:

[...] While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell's effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. [...]

Furthermore, the following question's highest-scoring answer states:

[...] The user never casts the spell either. They merely use a (special, unnamed) action to produce the spell's effects. They don't cast it and don't get to modify it with their features which care about them casting a spell. [...]

And the Sage Advice Compendium even states (page 3):

Q. Which action is used to activate a Spell-Storing Item?

A. Activating a Spell-Storing Item uses the Use an Object action.

Does this mean that a caster could use a Spell-Storing Item, creating the effects of any 1st or 2nd level Artificer spell with a casting time of 1 action, and then use their bonus action to cast any (bonus action) spell?

\$\endgroup\$
2
\$\begingroup\$

Yes, you can.

Casting a spell as your bonus action prevents you from casting a spell with your Action unless it's a Cantrip. You are, however, free to use your Action to activate a magic item, unless that magic item specifies that it is casting a spell. The magic items produced by the Spell-Storing Item class feature don't state that they allow you to cast a spell, simply "producing the spell's effect" of the spell stored within them, so you're free to use them in conjunction with casting a Bonus Action spell.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.