2
\$\begingroup\$

With the release of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, the Way of Mercy monk has been slightly reworked from the playtest version (in UA 2020: Subclasses, Part 1). Now I have a question about the new 11th-level feature, Flurry of Healing and Harm (p. 50):

You can now mete out a flurry of comfort and hurt. When you use Flurry of Blows, you can now replace each of the unarmed strikes with a use of your Hand of Healing, without spending ki points for the healing.

In addition, when you make an unarmed strike with Flurry of Blows, you can use Hand of Harm with that strike without spending the ki point for Hand of Harm. You can still use Hand of Harm only once per turn.

Can the healing portion of this ability be used on only 1 target?

It doesn't say anywhere in the subclass description that the target can only get healed once a turn; it only says that for the harming side. So can an 11th-level Way of Mercy monk target 1 creature with Flurry of Healing and heal them up to 4 times in the same turn?

\$\endgroup\$
12
\$\begingroup\$

There seems to be some confusion here. I'll try to unpack this.

Using Hand of Healing as an action.

Hand of Healing says:

As an action, you can spend 1 ki point to touch a creature and restore a number of hit points equal to a roll of your Martial Arts die + your Wisdom modifier.

If you use Hand of Healing as an action, you cannot use flurry of blows because flurry of blows says:

Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.

Hand of Healing is not the attack action. Using Hand of Healing in this way allows for a single use of the healing.

Using Flurry of Blows

As mentioned previously, using flurry of blows as a bonus action requires that we first use our action to take the Attack action. When we do so, and use flurry of blows, Flurry of Healing and Harm says:

When you use Flurry of Blows, you can now replace each of the unarmed strikes with a use of your Hand of Healing, without spending ki points for the healing.

This gives us two instances of the healing.

We can use both instances on one creature.

There is no restriction on using the two instances of healing on the same creature. The important restriction to remember is that the affected creature must be within your reach. Hand of Healing requires that you touch the creature you are healing.

\$\endgroup\$

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.